The Scoop

NCTS Middle School Blog

Sword Art Offline

on April 26, 2019

Sword Art Offline , I… I mean Online. Yes, this anime for 12 year olds has had its ups and downs. Ups and downs. DOWNS… Downs… dOwNs. This anime started its 3rd season a little while ago (5 months ago, shut up). Many claim that season 1 was the best season out of the 3. I strongly agree with this because it had the most story and it wasn’t an anime for 12 year olds. People took it as a serious anime and not some isekai (another world genre, usually has a lot of anime girls and a wacky plot that’s all over the place). Sword Art Online (SAO) has probably changed genres at least 4 times. Season 1 = Action. Season 2 first half = romance I guess (anime that refers to when in an anime, every female character is somewhat attracted to the main character). Season 2 second half = Action/Adventure. Season 3 = I don’t even know what’s goin’ on. I have only watched a couple episodes, so I am pretty far behind, but based on what people say about it, I don’t think I even need to.

SAO is about Kirito on another adventure. In Season 1, he was trapped in a virtual world with his future wife. In Season 2, Kirito was trapped in a virtual world with his sister. In Season 3, Kirito is trapped in a virtual world with people he doesn’t even know about. Do you see a pattern, I sure don’t. Kirito just can’t seem to catch a break… alone. (Although, I think he deserves this.)

 

Ever since Season 1 of SAO, Kirito has been this… this… GOD. He never dies, has way too much plot armor (narrative armor that keeps the character from dying in an action anime, no matter what, LOGIC DOES NOT APPLY). There have been many instances where he beats whatever opposition that’s in his way even when he shouldn’t be able to. The show was never plot heavy and mostly relied on Kirito being a GOD and unlocking some new skill that he can now magically do out of nowhere. The action and animation were top notch, there is one thing SAO Season 1 got right.

 

Season 1 part 2 and Season 2 of SAO was just romance sorta. Lets just say the show wasn’t kid friendly like the 1st season. Ha, you thought I wasn’t going to mention Kirito this time, WELL, YOU MY FRIEND ARE CORRECT. Kirito was just the same as last season, just more overpowered. So Kirito has to save Asuna (his future wife) because she is trapped and caged by another man. So Kirito has to deal with this problem. There is also a mini story in this season about a girl who is dying so she has to be kept in a facility and be kept alive. She wants to use the nervegear to see the world of SAO.

BUT WAIT, THERE’S MORE. KIRITO’S NOT ONLY OVERPOWERED IN GAMES, HE’S ALSO OVERPOWERED IN

 

LIFE TOO. WHAT!!! So Kirito and Asuna use their resources and build a camera, so the dying girl can see the REAL real world. Oh and then Kirito teams up with another girl and saves her from another virtual world, BUT WITH GUNS. Using the power of plot armor, Kirito is able to deflect and cut bullets using a lightsaber… I MEAN, LIGHT SWORD. He saves another damsel in distress from a guy he killed in Season 1 who is somehow back in Season 2. I don’t understand, I really just… just… whatever.

And now we arrive at our destination, Sword Art Online 3. OH WOW, IT’S LIKE EVERY OTHER SEASON OF SAO BUT LESS KID FRIENDLY. Not in terms of like inappropriate things but on the level of Attack on Titan. Just blood and guts, so I guess it’s not an anime for twelve year olds. SAO 3 came out late 2018 and is still going, I think. Anyway, I haven’t watched much of it, BUT, I have heard that it’s a very good anime continuation and you should really check it out to see if you are interested. I know I will.

P.S.: I know I didn’t talk about the movie or GGO (Gun Gale Online) Alternate. That was on purpose.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar